Listen to Austin 360 Radio

Chicken-fried steak times 25

Staff Writer
Austin 360
Mixed vegetables accompany the chicken-fried steak at Trudy's, which has three Austin locations.

Chicken-fried steak is almost as ubiquitous as tacos and burgers in these parts. In addition to Hoover's, Hyde Park, Threadgill's, Hill's Cafe and Shady Grove, here are 25 more places to find it, from humble blue plates to battered tenderloin.

— Mike Sutter

Arkie's Grill. 4827 E. Cesar Chavez St. 385-2986, www.arkiesgrill.com .

The Bakehouse. 5404 Manchaca Road. 443-5167, www.austinbakehouse.com .

BB's Home Cooking. 4701 Williams Drive, Georgetown. 512-868-6700, www.bbshome cooking.com .

Bill Miller Bar-B-Q. Multiple Austin locations, including 709 E. Ben White Blvd. and 8103 Burnet Road. More at www.billmiller bbq.com .

Bluebonnet Cafe. 211 U.S. 281, Marble Falls. 830-693-2344, www.bluebonnetcafe.net .

The Broken Spoke. 3201 S. Lamar Blvd. 442-6189, www.brokenspokeaustintx.com .

Cafe 290. 11011 U.S. 290 E. 278-8780, www.texascafe290.com .

Chez Zee. 5406 Balcones Drive. 454-2666, www.chez-zee.com .

Cover 3. 2700 W. Anderson Lane, No. 202. 374-1121, www.cover-3.com .

Freddie's Place. 1703 S. First St. 445-9197, www.freddiesplaceaustin.com .

Homefield Grill. 2000 S. Interstate 35, Suite D1, Round Rock. 512-388-4663, www.homefieldgrill.com .

Jack Allen's Kitchen. 7720 Texas 71 W. 852-8558, www.jackallenskitchen.com .

Monument Cafe. 500 S. Austin Ave., Georgetown. 512-930-9586, www.the monumentcafe.com .

Moonshine. 303 Red River St. 236-9599, www.moonshinegrill.com .

Nutty Brown Cafe.12225 U.S. 290 W. 301-4648, www.nuttybrown.com .

Patsy's Cowgirl Cafe. 5001 E. Ben White Blvd. 444-2020, www.patsyscafe.com .

Ranch 616. 616 Nueces St. 479-7616, www.theranch616.com .

Red's Porch. 3508 S. Lamar Blvd. 440-7337, www.redsporch.com .

Ross's Old Austin Cafe.11800 N. Lamar Blvd., Suite 6. 835-2414, www.greencity.com/cafeross.htm .

Royers Round Top Cafe. 105 Main St., Round Top. 979-249-3611, www.royersround topcafe.com .

Shoal Creek Saloon. 909 N. Lamar Blvd. 474-0805, www.shoalcreeksaloon.com .

Texan Cafe. 207 East St., Hutto. 512-846-2885, www.texancafe.net .

Trudy's. 8820 Burnet Road, 454-1474. 409 W. 30th St., 477-2935. 901 Little Texas Lane, 326-9899. www.trudys.com .

Z'Tejas. 1110 W. Sixth St., 478-5355. 9400A Arboretum Blvd., 346-3506. 10525 W. Parmer Lane, 388-7772. www.ztejas.com .

Zed's. 501 Canyon Ridge Drive. 583-0060, www.zeds.bz .