Listen to Austin 360 Radio

Austin360 On The Record: Robert LaRoche, Welsh Avenue, more

Peter Blackstock
Robert LaRoche's "A Thousand Shades" and Welsh Avenue's "New Ways" are two new records by Austin acts out this week.

Austin360 On The Record is a weekly roundup of new, recent and upcoming releases by local and Austin-associated recording artists.

After a smoking-hot June for high-profile Austin records (with releases by Willie Nelson, Black Pumas, Bruce Robison & Kelly Willis, Shinyribs, Los Coast and more), July is looking like more of an under-the radar month. Here’s a handful of new and recent releases from acts you might not have heard before.


Robert LaRoche, “A Thousand Shades” EP (Relief). A longtime guitarist and co-writer with eclectic Austin musician Patricia Vonne, LaRoche released his debut album in 2015. Now comes a solid six-song collection of mostly acoustic-based folk-rock, fleshed out with well-developed arrangements that enhance the songs without overriding them. Darin Murphy returns as producer, leading a studio crew that includes New Bohemians bassist Brad Houser, multi-instrumentalist Whit Williams, violinist David Perales, cellist Brian Standefer and pedal steel guitarist John Leon. Release show July 20 at Townsend. Here’s the track “Drawn to You”:

Welsh Avenue, “New Ways” EP. A Central Texas native who attended Texas A&M and now lives in the Round Rock-Austin area, Mark DiLillo has now made two EPs under the name Welsh Avenue. His clear tenor vocals and melodic piano grooves float atop electronic beats and textures on six tracks that are dance-oriented but also work well just for solitary drift-away listening with headphones. Welsh Avenue played a release show last week at Butterfly Bar and had a show at the Townsend last month, but doesn’t have any other live shows currently scheduled. We hope more venues will give DeLillo a shot soon, as “New Ways” suggests he’s well worth checking out. Here’s the title track:


Futon Blonde, “Uppercut.” Eight new tracks from the self-described “melodic, groove-based indie rock” outfit featuring multi-instrumentalists Janson Sommers and Mark Webb plus drummer Josh Rice. Release show July 11 at Hotel Vegas. Here’s the title track:


JULY 24: Duncan Fellows, “Eyelids Shut” EP (Level).

JULY 26: Guy Forsyth & Jeska Bailey, “Conspirators” (Small & Nimble), release show July 30 at Saxon Pub.

JULY 26: Chuck Hawthorne, “Fire Out of Stone” (3 Notches).

JULY 26: Mike McCoy’s Trompe-loeil, "Eyein' Lies" (Flak), release show July 26 at Hole in the Wall.

AUG. 9: Jesse Dayton, “Mixtape, Vol. 1” (Blue Elan).

AUG. 9: Chris & Adam Carroll, “Good Farmer.”

AUG. 16: Hanna Barakat, “Siren,” release show Aug. 30 at Come & Take It Live.

AUG. 23: Midland, "Let It Roll" (Big Machine).

AUG. 23: Croy & the Boys, “Howdy High-Rise” (Spaceflight), release show Aug. 24 at Sam’s Town Point.

RELATED: Check out more recent Austin360 On The Record roundups