Listen to Austin 360 Radio

Austin Film Society to honor 'Blind Side' director John Lee Hancock and 'Office Space' at Texas Film Awards

Joe Gross
That scene from "Office Space." You know the one. [CONTRIBUTED BY AUSTIN FILM SOCIETY]

The Austin Film Society announced two honorees Friday for the Texas Film Hall of Fame: filmmaker John Lee Hancock (“The Highwaymen,” “The Blind Side, “The Rookie”) and the almighty “Office Space,” in honor of the film's 20th anniversary.

Hancock and “Office Space” writer/director Mike Judge will attend the 2019 Texas Film Awards on March 7 to accept their awards. The annual event will take place at the AFS Cinema, with a red carpet followed by an intimate reception, dinner and awards ceremony in the theater's event hall.

Texas-born-and-raised filmmaker John Lee Hancock is best known for writing and directing “The Blind Side,” which was nominated for Best Picture at the Academy Awards in 2010 and picked up an Oscar for Sandra Bullock’s lead performance. He also directed “The Rookie,” starring Dennis Quaid, Rachel Griffiths, and Brian Cox; “The Founder,” starring Michael Keaton; and “Saving Mr. Banks,” starring Tom Hanks and Emma Thompson.

Hancock’s latest film, “The Highwaymen,” stars Kevin Costner, Woody Harrelson and Kathy Bates and tells the untold true story of the legendary Texas Rangers who brought down Bonnie and Clyde.

The film will premiere at this year's South by Southwest and launch globally on Netflix on March 29.

The cult classic "Office Space" will receive the 2019 Star of Texas Award for the Texas Film Hall of Fame. Judge will join AFS to reminisce about the making of this Texas classic. AFS will host a 20th anniversary screening of “Office Space” with cast and crew on March 6 at the Paramount Theatre, before the induction ceremony on March 7.

The Texas Film Awards event raises funds for AFS' year-round artistic and educational programs. Tickets to the "Office Space" anniversary screening will go on sale to the public Feb. 15.