Listen to Austin 360 Radio

Roger Corman will receive AFF’s Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking Award

Joe Gross
Roger Corman

Legendary-no-really-actually-legendary producer/director Roger Corman will receive the Austin Film Festival’s  Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking Award at the 25th annual AFF, which takes place Oct. 25 to Nov. 1.

With studios at first and then as an influential independent executive, creative and mentor, Corman, now 91, produced or directed over five hundred films over the past 60-plus years. 

In the 1970s, Corman founded New World Pictures which quickly became the largest independent motion picture distribution company in the United States. In addition to distributing his own productions, New World Pictures was one of the first American distributors to bring foreign cinema to the US; distributing the films of Akira Kurosawa, Francois Truffaut, Frederico Fellini, Ingmar Bergman, and Werner Herzog.

Corman’s most lasting legacy is perhaps the legion of producers, directors, writers, and actors he has discovered and fostered, including Jack Nicholson, Francis Ford Coppola, Peter Fonda, Sylvester Stallone, Sandra Bullock, Bruce Dern, Diane Ladd, Talia Shire, Peter Bogdanovich, Robert DeNiro, Martin Scorsese, Ron Howard, Joe Dante, Jonathan Demme, Gale Anne Hurd, and James Cameron. 

His memoir “How I Made A Hundred Movies In Hollywood And Never Lost A Dime” should be required reading for anyone who loves movies.

Corman will accept his award on October 27 during the annual Awards Luncheon. Past recipients include Danny Boyle, Jonathan Demme, Walter Hill, Ron Howard, Sydney Pollack, John Singleton, and Oliver Stone. More awardees for this year’s Festival will be announced at a later date.

RELATED: What did last year’s AFF look like?