Listen to Austin 360 Radio

Songwriters group to honor Texans Billy Gibbons, Christopher Cross, others

Peter Blackstock

The Texas Heritage Songwriters’ Association will induct ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons, 1980s hitmaker Christopher Cross, Americana troubadour Steve Earle and country tunesmith Bob McDill as the 2019 inductees into its Hall of Fame.

The announcement was made at a showcase this week during the Key West Songwriters Festival in Florida. A public ceremony honoring the inductees is set for Feb. 23, 2019, at the Paramount Theatre; tickets are not yet on sale.

RELATED: Review of 2018 Texas Heritage Songwriters Hall of Fame show

Gibbons, a Houston native, partnered with Dusty Hill and Frank Beard in the late 1960s to form ZZ Top, one of the top-selling American bands of the rock era. Cross, born in San Antonio, lived in Austin when he won five Grammys and an Oscar in the early 1980s. Earle, born in Schertz, became a left-of-center country star in 1980s Nashville. McDill, a native of Walden, has written dozens of chart-topping country hits as well as the late Don Williams’ masterpiece “Good Ole Boys Like Me.”

RELATED: Review of Christopher Cross in Austin in 2016