Listen to Austin 360 Radio

Austin360 On The Record: A look back at highlights of 2017

Peter Blackstock

For the inaugural Austin360 Awards, we asked dozens of local music community experts to nominate five finalists, and then choose a winner, for Album of the Year and other categories. You’ll find those results here:

The Austin360 Awards for 2017

Throughout the year, Austin360 On The Record reviewed or noted about 200 local releases, from high-profile artists who tour the country to little-known acts that play in clubs. Check our On The Record archive for more details about all of those releases. In the meantime, here’s a list of local highlights in 2017, from personal favorites to other high-profile releases to notable EPs, live albums and archival records.



  • Willie, Lukas & Micah Nelson, “Willie & the Boys: Willie’s Stash, Vol. 2”
  • David Ramirez, “We’re Not Going Anywhere”
  • Curtis McMurtry, “The Hornet’s Nest”
  • Sour Notes, “Darkest Sour”
  • Golden Boys, “Better Than Good Times”
  • Balmorhea, “Clear Language”
  • Sam Baker, “Land of Doubt”
  • Kalu & the Electric Joint, “Time Undone”
  • Laura Scarborough, “Reflection”
  • Cotton Mather, “Wild Kingdom”
  • Matt the Electrician, “The Doubles”
  • Pulkingham Layne, “Stringology”
  • Stephen Doster, “New Black Suit”
  • Matt Hubbard, “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”
  • Bluebonnets, “Tonewrecker”
  • My Education, “Schiphol”
  • Robyn Ludwick, “This Tall to Ride”
  • Adrian Ruiz Quintet, “Premiere: A Collection of Originals”
  • Caroline Says, “50,000,000 Elvis Fans Can’t Be Wrong”
  • Porter & the Bluebonnet Rattlesnakes, “Don’t Go Baby, It’s Gonna Get Weird Without You”


  • Spoon, “Hot Thoughts”
  • Missio, “Loner”
  • Midland, “On the Rocks”
  • Ruthie Foster, “Joy Comes Back”
  • Dale Watson & Ray Benson, “Dale & Ray”
  • Sweet Spirit, “St. Mojo”
  • A Giant Dog, “Toy”
  • Black Angels, “Death Song”
  • Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears, “Backlash”
  • BoDeans, “Thirteen”
  • Sunny Sweeney, “Trophy”
  • Milligan Vaughan Project, “MVP”
  • Bill Carter, self-titled
  • Darden Smith, “Everything”
  • Whitney Rose, “Rule 62”
  • Carolyn Wonderland, “Moon Goes Missing”
  • Matthew Logan Vasquez, “Does What He Wants”
  • Gurf Morlix, “The Soul & the Heal”
  • Will Johnson, “Hatteras Night, A Good Luck Charm”
  • Band of Heathens, “Duende”


  • Digital Wild, “Tall As Trees”
  • Christina Cavazos, “Cold”
  • Little Mazarn, self-titled


  • Jimmie Vaughan Trio featuring Mike Flanigin, “Live at C-Boy’s”
  • Gary Clark Jr., “Live/North America 2016”
  • Ray Prim, “Live at Strange Brew Lounge Side”


  • LeRoi Brothers, “Check This Action”
  • Tim Henderson, “The Legacy Collection”
  • Johnny Nicholas & Friends, “Too Many Bad Habits”