UT  history professor Denise A. Spellberg was named the $10,000 grand prize winner of the 2014 University Co-op Robert W. Hamilton Book Awards for her work "Thomas Jefferson’s Qur’an: Islam and the Founders."

The Hamilton Awards are among the highest honors of literary achievement given for UT Austin authors. This year’s winners were announced Oct. 15.

The awards are named for Professor Robert W. Hamilton, the Minerva House Drysdale Regents Chair-Emeritus in Law, who served as chair of the board of the University Co-op from 1989 to 2001.

Four other UT Austin professors received  $3,000 runner-up prizes:

Desmond F. Lawler,  a professor of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering, for "Water Quality Engineering: Physical/Chemical Treatment Processes," co-authored with Mark Benjamin, University of Washington (John Wiley & Son)

Huaiyin Li, a professor of  History, for "Reinventing Modern China: Imagination and Authenticity in Chinese Historical Writing" (University of Hawaii Press)

Allison E. Lowery, professor of  Theatre and Dance, for "Historical Wig Styling: Volumes 1 and 2" (Focal Press/Taylor and Francis Group)

Mark Metzler, professor of  Asian Studies, for "Capital as Will and Imagination: Schumpeter’s Guide to the Postwar Japanese Miracle" (Cornell University Press).

The University Co-operative Society also announced winners for its research awards Wednesday. Click here for the full slate.