Texas troubadour Robert Earl Keen will serve as host the sixth annual Austin City Limits Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Oct. 24, the program announced Tuesday night during a taping with New Orleans band the Revivalists.

Keen seems a fitting choice given that his 1970s Texas A&M housemate Lyle Lovett is among this year's inductees, along with Buddy Guy and Shawn Colvin. Those names were previously announced, with more news expected to come soon about other musicians who'll take part in saluting the 2019 class.

Tickets to the show, $50-$300, go on sale at 10 a.m. Friday, April 12, via the event's website. All proceeds benefit KLRU-TV, the Austin PBS affiliate that's home to the "Austin City Limits" television show.

Keen has a hard act to follow, as singer-songwriter Chris Isaak was splendid as emcee of the past two shows. Previous hosts had been a hit-and-miss affair, with hits including Matthew McConaughey for the inaugural 2014 event and misses including the wife-husband TV sitcom team of Megan Mullally and Nick Offerman.

In a statement, Keen said that "the Austin City Limits Hall of Fame is my Academy Awards. I don’t think there is a higher honor than to be asked to host the ACL Hall of Fame and as a bonus, I don’t have to wear a tux!”