Caption

A guide to the ever-expanding East Austin Studio Tour

Where to start and what to see always proves a challenge with the East Austin Studio Tour. This year, in its 15th iteration, EAST is the most robust it has been, with more than 500 participating artists, galleries, temporary exhibitions, happenings, public art installations and special events.

The tour extends far beyond its original central East Austin boundaries, too.

Now, as gentrification and rising real estate costs drive creatives farther afield, EAST extends up to U.S. 290, farther east to U.S. 183 and, as of last year, south of Lady Bird Lake to include the Montopolis neighborhood.

The warehouses where multiple artists have studios make for easy entry points to EAST. And temporary outdoor public art projects have in the past several years brought a refreshing dimension to the EAST experience.

This year, we selected 10 artist studios to visit, chosen not just for the talent on display and the diversity of their creative output but also as a challenge for you to explore the entirety of the tour’s current footprint.

New co-studio spaces have popped up in the Montopolis neighborhood, for example, as well as in the Windsor Park neighborhood in Northeast Austin. And we’re pointing you to a few individual artist studios on not-so-main streets or in corners of neighborhoods you might not have gone to before.

Ender Martos, 2803 E. Fifth St., endermartos.com

Oscillating lines and kaleidoscopic colors dazzle in Ender Martos’ paintings and large-scale kinetic sculpture.

Tammie Rubin, Fisterra Studio, 1200 E. Second St., tammierubin.com

Tammie Rubin’s intricately detailed porcelain sculpture is potent with symbolic and conceptual meaning, and her Austin debut solo exhibit is the highlight of the gallery scene.

Fisterra Studio is the longtime locale of artist Jennifer Chenoweth, who has participated in EAST since its inception and who each year invites a new lineup of artists to exhibit in her historic bungalow.

Liliana Wilson, 1404 Canterbury St., lilianawilson.com

Based in Austin for more than 30 years, the Chilean-born artist uses a semi-surrealist yet poignant style to delve into issues of social, political and emotional conflict.

María Fernanda Soltero, White Light Studio, 900 Vargas Road

Under the moniker of Sunfern Studios, María Fernanda Soltero crafts vibrant fiber and textile art objects — colorful miniature sculpture and jewelry made from delicate hand-wound thread.

White Light Studio is an all-female creative co-working space that opened in 2015 in the Montopolis neighborhood.

Lisa Choinacky, Cement Loop, 5811 Berkman Drive, Suite 140, lisachoinacky.com

Elegant, Zen-like black ink paintings offer meditative calm and also a sense of uncertainty.

In a transitioning strip mall, Cement Loop houses several studios and also hosts guest artists for EAST.

David Leonard, 1804 Corona Drive, davidleonardpaintings.com

The built environment, industrial landscapes and urban infrastructure are celebrated in David Leonard’s paintings.

Chaos Woods: Terry & Sarah Snow, 5335 Westminster Drive, chaoswoods.com

Pop culture and comic book style inspire this husband-and-wife team who create hand-carved, hand-painted wood toys and curiosities.

Jon Windham, Tillery Studios, 701 Tillery St., Suite A-1B, jonwindham.com

In beguiling and impeccably detailed graphite drawings, Jon Windham imagines half-living, half-machine mechanisms from a future world.

Woodshed: Matthew Helveston, 3502 Oak Springs Drive, vvoodshed.com

Custom-crafted wood furniture with a simple, modernist flare.

Jennifer Balkan, 3109 Lafayette Ave., jenniferbalkan.net

Painted portraits of women both whimsical and slyly surreal.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Macaulay Culkin in Austin to guest star on Modern Rogue
  2. 2 TV Listings
  3. 3 A-LIST PHOTOS: Day 1 of Float Fest at San Marcos on July 21

More from Austin360