Shirley MacLaine

The Austin Film Society (AFS)  will honor Shirley MacLaine, Sarah Green and the Texas film “Terms of Endearment” at the 2017 Texas Film Hall of Fame awards dinner, scheduled for March 9 at Austin Studios.

MacLaine will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award  and accept the Star of Texas Award for the Texas classic “Terms of Endearment” for which she won a best actress Academy Award in 1983. The film was directed by James L. Brooks and adapted from the novel by Texas writer Larry McMurtry.

Producer Green has worked on several of fellow 2017 honoree Jeff Nichols’s films as well as Terrence Malick’s  “Song to Song” and “The Tree of Life,” will be inducted into the Texas Film Hall of Fame. MacLaine and Green will join the previously announced 2017 honorees Nichols and Hector Galán, and Rising Star honoree Tye Sheridan.

Tickets to attend the 2017 Texas Film Awards, March 9, are on sale now and can be purchased by emailing or by going online to  All proceeds from the event benefit the artistic and educational programs of the Austin Film Society, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.

Sarah Green