The Wind + the Wave, “Happiness Is Not a Place” (Island). The pop duo of Patricia Lynn and Dwight Baker have gone far in a short time, releasing a debut album on RCA in 2014 just a year after forming. They moved to another major label, Island, for this highly accessible record that sets Lynn’s melodic vocals to sophisticated but not overly slick arrangements. Rising-star singer-songwriter Butch Walker’s presence as producer may have helped keep the focus squarely on the band’s appealing original material, which sometimes leans toward Americana-friendly folk-rock but elsewhere steers closer to the dance/electronica realm.

Playing Nov. 11 at Emo’s with Kaleo (sold out).

Here’s the video for the song “Grand Canyon”:



No Mind, “Zero Point Holiday.” An apocalyptic concept album from the post-rock quartet.

Release show Nov. 11 at Spider House Ballroom.

Here’s the 10-minute epic leadoff title track:

Belcurve, “Night Time” (EP). Six songs from the indie band fronted by singer Sarah Castro.

Release show Nov. 12 at the Blackheart.

Here’s the track “Hot Mess”:


NOV. 18: Robert Earl Keen, “Live Dinner Reunion” (Dualtone), signing-only in-store Nov. 18 at Waterloo Records.

NOV. 18: Curtis Grimes, “Undeniably Country.”

NOV. 18: KP & the Boom Boom, “The Brave.”

NOV. 18: Churchwood, “Hex City” (Saustex).

DEC. 6: David Halley, “A Month of Somedays,” release show Dec. 3 at the Townsend.

JAN. 20, 2017: Matthew Squires, “Tambaleo.”