Elizabeth McCracken’s "Thunderstruck" and Michael Morton’s "Getting Life" have won the top fiction and nonfiction prizes from the Writers’ League of Texas.

Each winner receives a $1,000 cash prize and a commemorative award.

The poetry award went to "Beast" by Frances Justine Post, while Nikki Loftin’s "Nightingale’s Nest" won best middle grade/young adult title.

Arun Gandhi and Bethany Hegedus won best children’s picture book for "Grandfather Gandhi."

Five Discovery Prize winners were also announced this year. Those honors deal with books that are independently published or come from a small press that members felt warranted attention.

Those prizes are: Fiction, "To Hell and Gone in Texas" by Russ Hall; nonfiction, "Life and Death on the Front Lines of Pediatric Surgery," by Catherine Musemeche; picture books, "Max, the Boy Raindrop," by Pamela Haskin; middle grade/young adult, "There’s a Name for This Feeling / Hay un Nombre Para lo que Siento," by Diane Gonzales Bertrand; poetry, "Something Smells Like Pee: and Other Classy Observations," by Blythe E. Jewell.

"Every year, countless important and worthy books by Texas writers are added to the literary landscape," said Becka Oliver, executive director of the Writers’ League.  "The Writers’ League has a long tradition of supporting Texas writers and recognizing their valuable contribution to literature and these book awards are a wonderful opportunity for us to do both.  We’re so proud of this program and we offer our heartfelt congratulations to the 2014 honorees."

The Writers’ League, a statewide nonprofit founded in 1981, has more than 1,300 members and launched its book awards in 1991.