Dean Young

Brands, Bill 2009 (Photo by Marsha Miller)

The honorees for the fifth annual Illumine Awards will be H.W. Brands, Dean Young, Sara Hickman and Forrest Preece, the Austin Public Library Friends Foundation announced today.

Brands, a University of Texas professor whose latest book is “Reagan: A Life,” will be honored for nonfiction. Young, author of “Elegy on Toy Piano,” will be the poetry honoree. He’s the Living Chair of Poetry at the University of Texas, and was the 2014 poet laureate of Texas.

Hickman, whose latest alburm is “Shine,” will be the songwriting honoree, while Forrest Preece, a longtime supporter of the Austin library and Badgerdog Literary Publishing, will be the literary patron honoree.

The recipients will be toasted at an award dinner starting at 7 p.m. on Nov. 13 at the W Hotel, 200 Lavaca St. Tickets are $150 and can be purchased at, or by calling 512-542-0076. Sponsor tables range from $1,500 to $10,000.

“As this group of honorees shows, Austin is a vibrant literary scene that includes nationally acclaimed writers working in a range of different categories and genres,” says Tim Staley, executive director of the foundation.

The foundation provides support for the Austin Public Library by increasing public awareness and enhancing the library’s collections, programs and facilities.