Scott Speed defended his RallyCross gold medal, edging out Steve Sarpin by a slim margin.

The last American to drive in Formula One, Speed has now won the past three X Games RallyCross gold medals dating back to 2013.

Speed ran most of the race with a severely damaged bumper, but it didn’t stop him from taking the lead from Sebastian Eriksson in the fifth lap. He then held the lead for the rest of the race and took the joker – an extra turn each competitor must take once – on the seventh lap.

Speed finished the race in 6 minutes, 20.843 seconds. Sarpin crossed the finish line at 6:21.80.

Eriksson finished third, even though the Swedish driver blew a tire and was running on the metal rim for the final four laps of the 10-lap race.